Practical info

Who, What, Where, When, How? Find all relevant info about the symposium below.

Who and what?

During the symposium five speakers with different backgrounds in quantum optics and information will give presentations of about 35 minutes about a specific topic. Next to the five main speakers three speakers from the AQO research group will give introductory presentations about the topics by the main speakers. During the symposium coffee, tea and lunch will be provided. After the symposium has ended a drink will be organized at the TAP. To get to know the speakers, follow the link below.


The Arago symposium 2021-2022 will be held on the 12th of May. The day will start with the registration between 9:00 and 9:30. After the opening of the symposium the speakers (with introductory speakers) will give presentations in blocks of about 50 minutes. The symposium will end at about 16:00. A precise schedule of the day can be found on this page closer to the symposium.


The Arago symposium 2021-2022 will be held at the Waaier 3 lecture hall (also known as the Van Hasseltzaal) in the Waaier building (building number 12) at the University of Twente (UT). The Waaier building can be accessed via the Hal B building (building number 13). The drink after the end of the symposium will be held at the TAP. The TAP is located on the 5th floor of the Carré building (building number 15) at the UT. When entering Hal B signs will show the route to Waaier 3. The route to the TAP will be shown during the event. To schedule the route to the UT and look for parking options, please follow the links below.

Entrance fee

Even though a lot of costs of the symposium are covered with funds by sponsors (go take a look at them via the link below!), not all costs are covered. That is why for all visitors of the symposium an entrance fee will apply. The standard entrance fee is € 15,00. However! If you are a member of the The Netherlands’ Physical Society (NNV) and/or S.V. Arago you will receive a discount. Look in the table below to find which entrance fee is applicable to you!

Member of:Entrance fee
none€ 15,-
NNV€ 12,50
S.V. Arago€ 9,50
S.V. Arago and NNV€ 4,50

Are you a member of NNV yet? Become a member of NNV and receive discounts for symposiums and the ‘Europareis’ organized by S.V. Arago. Furthermore the NNV publishes the Dutch Journal of Physics (NTvN) every month and it represents the interrests of Dutch physicists. Membership of the NNV is free for physics students who are in the second year of their study. For other years the membership fee of the NNV is € 13,75 until the student has graduated. To find more info about the NNV or become a member of the NNV, please follow the link below.

Any other burning question?

If you have any other burning question that is not answered on this page please mail the symposium committee! They happily answer your questions. If the button below doesn’t work, please mail to